Back to my home roots.

El Salvador is a small country located in Central America. I am from here. I am from the rainforests, I am from the beautiful black sand beaches, I am from the indigenous culture, I am from the exotic food.

After graduating high school, my family asked me what I wanted as a gift and it was to go back to my home roots. I ask this because I have not seen my family in many years and I thought that it would be a great way to spend the summer before I go off to college. I was born in Ahuachapán, El Salvador which is about a two hour car ride from the capital of the country. I spent most of my time in three cities: San Salvador, Ahuahchapán, and Ataco.

Concepción de Ataco

Processed with VSCO with g3 presetThis is my absolute favorite place, and I spend mostly the weekends there because my family owned a beautiful artistic shop there. The city is tiny, with a stunning picturesque view. All of the walls are painted by my Aunt Christina and they hold a variety of colors. The whole town feels as if it was off of a movie. The streets are filled with shops and people bartering, there is a scent of fire-wood in the air, and there children, families, and tourists everywhere. Kids are riding their horses around, and people are painting beautiful artwork on the streets. This town is absolutely beautiful, and it continually amazes me how it gets better each time I visit. I am happy to say that I will always have a home here, and that it will always hold a special place in my heart.

Going back to my home roots was very humbling for me, and I am very happy I got to do this before I went off to college. Being from El Salvador has opened up a perspective for me that many people are never to gain in a lifetime.

Leave a Reply

