Foreign Film Club – The Kite Runner

At the next Foreign Film Club meeting that I attended, we were able to watch “The Kite Runner” which emphasized the country of Afghanistan. This movie is based off of a novel by Khaled Hosseini, published in 2003 and the movie was first screened in 2007.

I think that the movie is such a pure story that involves the lives of two young boys. Throughout the movie we see themes of friendship, loyalty, the effects of bullying, family, corruption, betrayal, as well as past vs. present. It was honestly a heartbreaking movie, which I believe that every person can relate to in some way. I highly recommend this movie to any person and would give it an 8/10 rating.

Foreign Film Club allows me to hang out with other Global Engagement Fellows as well as learn about the world in a cool and fun way. I am eager to return to Foreign Film Club next semester, and I am excited to see which other movies we see throughout the semester.

Movie Trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sLtavGjAOJY

P.S. I also thought it is interesting that many of my posts this semester are related to Afghanistan.

Leave a Reply

